Dear Friends, Stop Telling Me I Go To Weird Places

Dear friends,

If I wanted to go on a sunny holiday to relax, I would go to my charming mediterranean country, stay for free in my parents house, use dad’s car, get fed by my mama and be spoiled by my friends.

I like to think of myself as a traveller who wants to hang out with locals, find out about hidden gems and go to places with not so much selfie sticks.

PS: I have nothing against selfie sticks unless they are taking 3/4 of your photos or when they are taking up my personal space.

I know that you love me and do worry about me but stop freaking me out with your “Ohhhhh! Isn’t that a dangerous place?” every time I tell you about my travel plans (You too mama! Especially the places you’ve never been but so sure it’s dangerous for me to be there).

Dear readers, who do not necessary know about my travels ( It’s OK, I do forgive you), ‘dangerous’ places I’ve visited include Lebanon, Serbia etc.

As if Beirut was more dangerous than Paris this past year ( *Sarcastically rolling my eyes*).

Back to you, dear friends.

It is really harsh to base your judgement on news from ten years ago. The Lebanese civil war ended in 1990 but yet some people only have this image of a very beautiful country and its friendly lovely people, same applies on Serbia.

I get the fact that your perception is most of the time fed by media and I’m no exception. But for that exact reason, it’s important that we leave our comfort zones, couches and TVs and go out into the “wild”.

Let’s face it, we live in hard times and it’s important to try to get to know each other, it’s important to open up to others.

People are nice, most of them. During my travels to the States, Lebanon, Serbia, etc. I met some amazing strangers with whom I had in common just one thing: our humanity. But that was enough.

If what you consider as weird place is a place with no resorts, junk food or similar experience to your homeland, then yes I love visiting weird places.

Places where I can learn something new, where I can open up to a different culture.

Weird is good.  The world is worth the risk.

PS: I have nothing against resorts, it’s just not my type of travel.

 

Yours truly,

The traveller inside me

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

