Why I’m celebrating female friendship this Valentine’s Day

Disclaimer: This post is inspired by an article I read on Mashable UK this morning. I even kept the same title.

The shortest answer is : Why not?

The longest answer is :

  1. Because I’m single (hard to believe, right? :p ) and all I have is my squad.
  2. Because roses and over-priced dinner for 2 are very cheesy and commercial for me. So even if I was in a relationship, I wouldn’t probably celebrate Valentine Day in the traditional way. I would/do celebrate V-Day though 😉
  3. Because female friendship is the one constant love in my life. Oliver Sack said: ” I cannot pretend I am without fear. But my predominant feeling is one of gratitude. I have loved and been loved; I have been given much and I have given something in return; I have read and traveled and thought and written.” I loved, I’ve been loved, I broke hearts and my heart was broken. Everytime my heart was broken or tested, whether by a man or simply by life, it’s female friendship that helped me get over my pain and keep going. Despite what my social media may reflect, my life; like every other human; is not just interesting trips and lovely shoes. I had my fair bit of rough times, sometimes I thought I’d fall and never stand up again but every single time, there were hands pulling me up, those of my girlfriends telling me to believe in myself and in my inner strength, pushing me beyond what I thought was my limit to achieve even more. It’s not just about the rough times, my female friends are my biggest source of inspiration.  I learn from each of them, each of them is skilled on her own way. We all push each other to succeed and to achieve more. They don’t see me as an alien just because I’m strong, independent or ambious. We care about each other and we believe in each other.

So today I want to celebrate the amazing women in my life starting with the woman who tought me to buy my own damn roses, mama, I’ve said it one million times and I’ll keep saying it : Thank you for raising me to be the woman I’m today, without you nothing would be possible.

I want to celebrate the women who pushed me to achieve my goals, the women who made sure I booked another driving test everytime I failed one ( I did fail a few).

I want to celebrate the women who tought me to stand for what I believe is right, to be vocal, more confident and embrace my own shenanigans.

I want to celebrate the women with whom I shared too many laughs, wanders and stories, with whom I got lost in the Balkan mountains.

I want to celebrate the women who told me it’s ok to cry and that I would eventually be fine.

I want to celebrate the women who sent me songs like “Fuck u” by The Archive everytime I told them I miss my asshole.

I want to celebrate my sisters for making me so proud , so proud to be their big sister.

I want to celebrate those not so close  female friends succeeding and achieving amazing stuff  because their success makes me happy.

This is not exclusive to women, I have amazing men in my life that I love, to whom I’m so grateful for everything they’ve done for me but today I’m celebrating female friendship 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

